Homemade Power Protein Plate

Now to figure out how to make a Venti Iced Unsweetened Green Tea at home...

I can often be accused of being dense. There are just some things I don’t pay attention to. I’m off dreaming, or, as my dad says, I’m off in la la land. Once, in the quad at lunch in high school, I found myself singing the words to “Too Close” by Next at the top of my lungs until I was politely told to stop by my good friend Di. Who would’ve thought those lyrics were so nasty? Suffice it to say, this is a personality trait that I’m stuck with and I constantly have moments that make me feel like I’ve learned nothing in these 28 years.

So, it came as no surprise when I got addicted to Starbucks’ Power Protein Plates in 2008 and I didn’t realize the magnificent “duh” quotient (of, you know, making my own, for heaven’s sake) until, literally, last Friday. I don’t even want to discuss the amount of money I’ve wasted on novelty and convenience and unnecessary (though recyclable) packaging.

I just want to give you data.

Starbucks’ Power Protein Plate
Total calories: 370
Price: $4.95

Homemade Power Protein Plate
Total calories: 401
Price: $1.66

The reason the PPP (I’m not going to lie, sometimes I want that to stand for Peter Piper Pizza) is the ideal breakfast for me is three-fold.

1)      It is wildly convenient to eat on the way to work and at my desk.

2)      Its sweetness comes from bits of fruit and not traditional breakfasty sources which, for some reason, I don’t like. At all.

3)      It gives me 1/3 of my protein for the day. That’s good for someone who doesn’t eat a whole lot of meat.

I also like that you can switch out the type of cheese, among other things. No one wants to burn out on cheese. That would be the saddest thing ever.

One thought on “Homemade Power Protein Plate

  1. no matter how long i know you i will always think it’s weird that you don’t like sweet breakfast foods.

    I LOVE PROTEIN.

    burning out on cheese would be tragical!

Leave a Reply

